Sundays In Bed With…Viper

I’ve had a very productive Sunday morning reading and finishing an AMAZING book that I started yesterday, so I couldn’t resist doing this tag today! Sundays In Bed With… is hosted by Midnight Book Girl.

This week, I attended the Twitter launch party for Venom by Bex Hogan. Her first book, Viper, came out last year and received a lot of very good reviews, I bought a copy when it first came out, went to an event where I got it signed and got to meet Bex…then I just never got round to actually reading it. However, I wanted to join in with the Twitter launch for book two and see whether I really ought to read it soon, and it was without hesitation that many book bloggers persuaded me to give it a go!

Marianne has been training to be the Viper for her entire life – to serve and protect the King and the citizens of The Twelve Isles – but to become the Viper and protect the islands she loves she must find the strength to defeat her father.

An immersive and swashbuckling new fantasy trilogy perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas and Leigh Bardugo.

He will make me a killer.
Or he will have me killed.
That is my destiny.

Seventeen-year-old Marianne is fated to one day become the Viper, defender of the Twelve Isles.

But the reigning Viper stands in her way. Corrupt and merciless, he prowls the seas in his warship, killing with impunity, leaving only pain and suffering in his wake.

He’s the most dangerous man on the ocean . . . and he is Marianne’s father.

She was born to protect the islands. But can she fight for them if it means losing her family, her home, the boy she loves – and perhaps even her life?

A brave heroine. An impossible dilemma. An epic new fantasy trilogy set on the high seas.

So yeah, this sounds like my kinda book. As Steph said, Pirates and Assassins.

WHY HAVEN’T I PICKED THIS UP SOONER?!

I flew through Viper, and this morning I devoured the second half. The only downside is that I now have to find a way to get a copy of Venom and it’s not in my possession right now D:

Marianne is an incredible main character; at first I wasn’t too sure of her but as the story progressed I grew to really like her! There’s such a variety of characters, the story moves at the perfect pace and it’s just AHHHH!

If you loved To Kill a Kingdom, Throne of Glass…anything like that, you will ADORE this book!

Have you read Viper yet? If not, I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THAT YOU DO!

kayleigh

Six for Sunday: 1st March 2020

Hello again! This week’s theme actually is pretty tricky; it’s not something I’ve ever thought of before. However, I want to have a go so let’s see how this goes! Six for Sunday is a weekly meme hosted by A Little But A Lot! Today’s theme is:

Characters Ahoy!: characters I’d name my kids after

  1. Feyre – A Court of Thorns and Roses, Sarah J Maas
  2. Ivy – The Uncommoners, Jennifer Bell
  3. Elsie – Witch for a Week, Sylvia Bishop
  4. Lira – To Kill a Kingdom, Alexandra Christo
  5. Daisy – Murder Most Unladylike, Robin Stevens
  6. Matilda – Never Look Back, Lesley Pearse

I’m sure that I could probably find more if I went through every book I’ve read, but I think this is a nice varied selection! Still no inspiration for boy’s names though…

kayleigh

 

Six for Sunday: 12th May 2019

Hello and happy Sunday! It’s so weird; I haven’t had to wear a coat today and it’s been so warm. I’ve had a nice day with my bestie celebrating her birthday! Six for Sunday is a weekly meme hosted by A Little But A Lot! Today’s theme is:

The Ever Growing TBR: 2018 books I want to re-read

  1. img_3179Legendary – Stephanie Garber
  2. I Was Born For This – Alice Oseman
  3. i stop somewhereSunflowers in February – Phyllida Shrimpton
  4. Death in the Spotlight – Robin Stevens
  5. To Kill a Kingdom – Alexandra Christo
  6. The Exact Opposite of Okay – Laura Steven

Some of my all-time favourite books came out in 2018, all listed above! I really hope to get around to rereading all of these at some point!

kayleigh

 

snailycanflyy Book Award 2018

Last year, I hosted my first snailycanflyy Book Award, where I narrowed down my top books of the year, and after a fab reading year the award is back for 2018! Last year saw some tough competition from some amazing books featuring amazing authors and illustrators with the overall winner being the very worthy The Goldfish Boy by Lisa Thompson which still stands out as one of the best books I’ve ever read!

The award is split into three categories – Best Picture Book, Best Middle Grade and Best Young Adult, with a winner in each category and an overall winner. The criteria is simply that it has to be a five-star rated book published in 2018 and one that I want to talk about, one that has stuck with me since reading and one that I would recommend wholeheartedly. So, without futher ado, here are the category nominees:

img_4075

BEST PICTURE BOOK:

Oscar the Hungry Unicorn – Lou Carter, Nikki Dyson
The Bear, The Piano, The Dog and the FiddleDavid Litchfield
Ruby’s Worry – Tom Percival
Space Tortoise – Ross Montgomery, David Litchfield
The Story Orchestra: The Sleeping Beauty Jessica Courtney-Tickle

BEST MIDDLE GRADE BOOK:

The Truth PixieMatt Haig
Death in the Spotlight – Robin Stevens
The Eye of the North – Sinead O’Hart
The Light Jar Lisa Thompson
The Secret Seven: Mystery of the Skull – Pamela Butchart

BEST YOUNG ADULT BOOK:

I Was Born For ThisAlice Oseman
To Kill a KingdomAlexandra Christo
LegendaryStephanie Garber
Sunflowers in FebruaryPhyllida Shrimpton
The Exact Opposite of OkayLaura Steven

AND THE WINNERS ARE…drumroll please!

oscar the hungry unicornBEST PICTURE BOOK
Oscar the Hungry Unicorn

death in the spotlightBEST MIDDLE GRADE BOOK
Death in the Spotlight

to kill a kingdomBEST YOUNG ADULT BOOK
To Kill a Kingdom

OVERALL WINNER
The Truth Pixie

A massive congratulations and thank you to all of the authors who’s books made it to the shortlist! All of these books are so incredible and I’ve loved reading them in 2018!

kayleigh

 

My Year of Audible: 2018

It’s scary to think that I’m already over halfway through Blogmas 2018! Today I am going to share with you some of the audiobooks that I have loved this year; although I’ve not listened as frequently lately, I have got some brilliant audiobooks this year!

The Goldfish Boy – Lisa Thompson narrated by Leon Williams

The Truth Pixie – Matt Haig narrated by Matt Haig

Notes on a Nervous Planet – Matt Haig narrated by Matt Haig

The Kissing Booth – Beth Reekles narrated by Cynthia Holloway

I Was Born For This – Alice Oseman narrated by Aysha Kala, Huw Parmenter

The Exact Opposite of Okay – Laura Steven narrated by Laura Aikman

Legendary – Stephanie Garner narrated by Rebecca Soler

To Kill a Kingdom – Alexandra Christo narrated by Jacob York, Stephanie Willis

Daughter of the Pirate King – Tricia Levenseller narrated by Marisa Calin

Although I haven’t got around to finishing listening to all of these, I have loved the freedom of having an Audible membership and having some wonderful titles added to my audiobook library!

Have you listened to any of these, or are there any you’d recommend?

Cover Buys of 2018

There have been so many beautiful books come out this year, and I saw a post the other day on Matilda’s Library where she showcased some of these and I thought that I’d love to have a think about my favourites! Below you’ll find a selection of these beauties, a mixture between books I’ve bought this year, have come out this year, or requested this year!

Okay, so it’s pretty evident that I buy a lot of books based on their covers! What books have you bought this year because of a pretty cover?

kayleigh

 

Six for Sunday: 7th October 2018

I haven’t done one of these for a while…I’m sorry! Welcome back to one of my favourite tags on the internet – Six for Sunday (you can find the prompts here!). I’m actually keeping up with Blogtober too which I am very surprised about! What an excellent topic to get back into S4S with this week with:

Best debut books

There are so many amazing debuts out there, but I will narrow it down to six which absolutely stand out for me!

1. To Kill a Kingdom by Alexandra Christo

Still in the running for Best YA Book 2018, this amazing debut all about sirens and pirates is still getting lots of praise, and very deservedly! I LOVE IT!

2. Sunflowers in February by Phyllida Shrimpton

Another fantastic debut from 2018 which is up there is this title, focusing on life and death in a warm and moving way.

3. Murder Most Unladylike by Robin Stevens

Always guaranteed to get me out of a reading slump is this incredible series which started as a debut author and has just gone from strength to strength. A must read for all murder mystery fans!

4. The Exact Opposite of Okay by Laura Steven

Another one that’s in the running for Best YA Book of 2018 is this hilarious yet important title about the culture of slut shaming, feminism and just the awkwardness of being a young adult that I think everyone can relate to.

5. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K.Rowling

It wouldn’t be a list of the best debuts without Harry Potter featuring. It’s a phenomenon. It’s Harry Potter. I need not say more!

6. The Goldfish Boy by Lisa Thompson

I saved this until last because it’s the first book that came to mind when I saw this tag. Are you surprised to see this on here? You shouldn’t be. Without a doubt, this is one of the best debuts I’ve EVER read. 

Have you read any of these? Would you have included any other titles?

Six for Sunday: 8th April 2018

Hello and happy Sunday! Today’s my last day off before I start my new job – very excited and nervous! I’ve had a fairly good reading week this week, all culminating in an event yesterday at Foyles with Laura Steven which was awesome!

You can find the prompts for S4S here. This week’s is:

Favourite books this year so far…

I’ve been looking forward to this S4S – I’ve read some amazing books this year that I keep wanting to shout about!

1. The Exact Opposite of Okay Laura Steven

2. To Kill A Kingdom Alexandra Christo

3. I Was Born For This Alice Oseman

4. Sunflowers in February Phyllida Shrimpton

5. Goodbye, Perfect Sara Barnard

6. The Truth About Alice Jennifer Mathieu

I LOVE THESE BOOKS SO MUCH! It was actually pretty tricky to narrow this list down once I’d got the first couple – there are many more wonderful books that I’ve read this year! Would you agree with any of these?

 

Six for Sunday: 11th March 2018

You can find the prompts for S4S here. This week’s is:

Characters you wouldn’t like to be stuck in a lift with

The opposite to last week! It’s slightly easier to think about who you wouldn’t want to be stuck in a lift with, just tricky remembering which characters I loathed so much that I wouldn’t want to be stuck anywhere with them, let alone in a lift!

1. Tamlin (A Court of Thorns and Roses)

2. The Sea Queen (To Kill a Kingdom)

3. Danny Wells (The Exact Opposite of Okay)

4. Bryce Walker (Thirteen Reasons Why)

5. Count Olaf (A Series of Unfortunate Events)

6. Dolores Umbridge (Harry Potter)

Do you agree or disagree with any I’ve chosen? 

Six for Sunday: 4th March 2018

Happy Sunday! You can find the prompts for S4S here. This week’s is:

Characters you’d like to be stuck in a lift with

This is actually quite a tricky one! Trying to remember who you could deal with spending lots of time in a confined space with is harder than it sounds!

1. Izzy O’Neill (The Exact Opposite of Okay)

2. Becky Bloomwood (The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic)

3. Celaena Sardothien (Throne of Glass)

4. Elian (To Kill a Kingdom)

5. Rhysand (A Court of Thorns and Roses)

6. Julian (Caraval)

Do you agree with any I’ve chosen? Or would some of them drive you mad?