Six for Sunday: 10th June 2018

Good evening! Sorry I’ve been a bit MIA on here – it feels like a while since I last did a tag post! I’m taking a break from revision for my French exam tomorrow to do this one; it’s an interesting topic!

You can find the prompts for S4S here. This week’s is:

Reasons you love books…

1. Escaping to another world, whether it’s set in our world or a fantasy one

2. Finding characters who have similar traits, both positive and negative, as you

3. To learn more about others and what they go through

4. I have an obsessive personality, so I became obsessed with books at a young age, and that’s unlikely to change

5. Finding relatable quotes

6. They take you on emotional rollercoasters and can help you to feel emotions

They’re the main reasons that I love books so much – what are yours?

Advertisements

WWW Wednesday: 2nd May 2018

How is it already May?! I’ve had to focus a lot on uni this week so haven’t had a chance to read much, but I’ve still read a bit!

we are young

What are you currently reading? 

I started We Are Young by Cat Clarke today, so far so good! I love her writing style and it’s so easy to get in to her books. I’ve heard nothing but good things about this latest title which comes out tomorrow!

img_5522

What did you recently finish reading?

This week I read a picture book – Monty and Sylvester, which was alright! I also half read How To Write a Love Story by Katy Cannon, which also comes out tomorrow, which, whilst it started out pretty good, ended up being way too fluffy for me!

What do you think you’ll read next?

I want to read Skylarks by Karen Gregory next, and give Wingbound by Heather Trim another go as I’m more into fantasy at the minute than I was when I first started it!

WWW Wednesday: 25th April 2018

It’s that time of week again – hello and happy Wednesday! This has been one of my favourite reading weeks this year…you’ll see why!

What are you currently reading? 

I’ve just started How to Write a Love Story by Katy Cannon, and whilst I’m not far into it it’s pretty good so far! It seems like a fairly light contemporary. 


What did you recently finish reading?

I finished Legendary this week and OMG! It was even better than Caraval and I just want to experience the magic all over again!

What do you think you’ll read next?

I have a load of May releases to get on with so probably one of those! I’m tempted to start We Are Young by Cat Clarke next.

LEGENDARY – Stephanie Garber

5/5

Sequel to the wonderful Caraval, that’s arguably even better than the first.

I finished Legendary this afternoon. My heart is still racing. This book!

Without a doubt, Legendary is even better than Caraval, which is some feat since Caraval was without a doubt one of the top books of 2017. Somehow, Stephanie Garber has crafted a tale that once again has you doubting what’s real and what’s only a part of the game, full of unexpected twists and turns. Even things that you are fairly certain are real you question, and that really is the true beauty of this book!

Legendary focuses on the story of Tella, who is a much feistier character than her older sister Scarlett, and as such makes the story a lot more fast-paced and unpredictable. I couldn’t help but adore Tella. She takes on everything that’s thrown at her with such a headstrong attitude as she is thrust into the world of Caraval.

I don’t want to make this a spoiler review, so I’m going to try to be as obscure as possible, but know that so many fantastical new characters are introduced in Legendary, as well as some incredible development of existing characters. I finished the book with a new book boyfriend (oh hi Dante!) and a thirst for more!

I have heard that this is just a duology, but, that said, I’m desperate for more and want to know what happens next! So, if you’re reading this, Stephanie, PLEASE can there be more!


Thank you so much to Hodder for my copy of Legendary via NetGalley!

WINGBOUND – Heather Trim

4/5 so far

Full review to come.

“Ledger is supposed to fear and despise the Sky People of Ellery. When an Ellerian girl named Alouette with beautiful, white wings sneaks into his village, everything changes. With his village at war with the winged people who live on the floating island that circles their world, he does the unthinkable: he befriends her. 

In Ledger’s seventeenth harvest, Ellery returns empty. The Sky People are gone, Alouette is missing, and Ledger must make a difficult choice—continue life as usual in the blacksmith workshop or board the island against the elders’ wishes and find her. 

From debut author Heather Trim comes a vibrant fantasy where following the rules isn’t always the right thing to do when you were born to be the exception.” – Goodreads

Okay, so I was very lucky and was asked if I would like to review a new Young Adult fantasy book from debut author Heather Trim. It sounded right up my street fantasy book-wise and the reviews already are fantastic – I couldn’t wait to get my review out there too! You may have noticed me talking in the past-tense and that this is very different to my usual style of review; I haven’t actually read all of this book *hangs head in shame*. However, what I have read is so good that I simply didn’t want to DNF it just because I’m not in the mood for fantasy books at the minute! The past month or so has seen me have lots of uni assignments to do, become very unhappy in my current job and so getting a new job and lots and lots of book releases that I had copies of via NetGalley, so, as you can imagine, it’s been very hectic! The books I have read have all been contemporaries – it’s my favourite genre and has been what I’ve needed to read to keep me sane so fantasies and historical fiction have really taken a backseat.

But I really want to raise some awareness about this exciting new book!

So, from what I have read, with Wingbound you are guaranteed a fast-paced book with some fantastic world-building and characters. Heather Trim’s writing style is so easy to get into and she doesn’t fall into the trap that I’ve come across so often with debut authors of being overly descriptive of everything. She gives just enough detail to create a vibrant image in your head which is perfect for me! Going on other reviews and my reading experience so far, what’s to come can only get better!

I fully intend to continue reading Wingbound as soon as I’m in the mood for fantasy and life settles down a bit, which hopefully will be soon!


Thank you very much to Shayla and Heather for sending me an eBook of Wingbound!

WWW Wednesday: 14th February 2018

Happy Valentine’s Day! I’m having a good reading week – loving my current read and getting through lots of picture books!
What are you currently reading?

27575291_508756359525079_4597215736736251904_n
What are you currently reading? 

I’ve recently started The Exact Opposite of Okay by Lauren Steven…I knew it sounded good but omg! It’s absolutely brilliant and full of humour and I’m really enjoying reading it! I’m very excited to get a finished copy next month!
What did you recently finish reading?

26872513_1707300712669695_7922094871421124608_n
What did you recently finish reading?

This week I read both mini mysteries in the Wells and Wong series – Robin Stevens is the author of the month for the British Books Challenge and A Spoonful of Murder has just come out and I just felt like a good short story, so I read two. Loved them, expected nothing less!

What do you think you’ll read next?

I’ve got lots of ARCs to read, I think next will either be Wingbound by Heather Trim or Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley, depending on whether I fancy a fantasy or contemporary.

 

 

 

 

TO KILL A KINGDOM – Alexandra Christo

5/5

A murderous siren meets the pirate prince as we take to the high seas on an epic adventure.

This is actually a harder review to write than I anticipated; I literally just want to write a page of “I love it, I love it, I love it” and squeal with excitement as I reminisce over this incredible book and suffer through my book hangover! I knew that I was going to enjoy To Kill A Kingdom; it’s been suggested for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sarah J Maas. However, what I didn’t know is that I was going to fall completely for this world, these characters and this story.

To Kill A Kingdom is a dual narrative high fantasy set in a world where there is a constant war between the land and the seas. Our two main characters, Lira and Elian, are hunting each other – Lira is a siren, the Princes’ Bane, and is after Elian’s heart, Elian is the pirate prince who seeks to destroy the Princes’ Bane. However, their two paths collide in the most unlikely of ways as Lira is transformed into a human by the Sea Queen. But which one of them will succeed in killing the other?

The thing that I loved most about this book is the writing; it was so easy to get hooked on and full of warmth and humour. Lira is a sassy anti-heroine who you can’t help but adore, Elian a fierce character who isn’t just some pampered prince. The crew of the Saad are just as fun to get to know through both of these characters. I tabbed so many points of this book just because I laughed out loud!

I can’t recommend To Kill A Kingdom highly enough; it certainly lives up to the expectation and can certainly rival incredible fantasy books such as those by Maas and Bardugo, and I can’t wait to see what Christo writes in the future!


Thank you to Hot Key Books via NetGalley for the eBook of To Kill a Kingdom.

THE SMOKING HOURGLASS – Jennifer Bell, Karl J Mountford

4/5

The eagerly awaited sequel to The Uncommoner’s takes us back to Lundinor!

I can’t begin to describe just how excited I was for this book; book one, The Crooked Sixpence, was one of the best debuts I’ve ever read and so I couldn’t wait to see what Jennifer Bell has in store for us with book two.

When The Crooked Sixpence came out, many comments were thrown around about how it does a good job of filling in the void left by Harry Potter and I can’t disagree with that. Bell’s writing is exquisite and she has crafted a fascinating world that can only continue to grow. I remember being up until 2am reading the first book, being kept on the edge with the suspense of what was to come and being fully drawn into the world of Lundinor.

So, that brings us to The Smoking Hourglass. In all honesty, I did find that this one started off a bit slower than I had hoped BUT, once again, as soon as we’re taken to Lundinor I was lost completely in the world of the Uncommoners. This time, we get to visit Lundinor in Spring and the descriptions really bring it to life – it sounds incredible! The story really began to pick up pace at this point as we discover that Lundinor is once again at the mercy of a dastardly villain and it’s up to Ivy and Seb to get to the bottom of it, but will they be in time to save themselves and the entirety of Lundinor?

Finally, this would not be a proper review without a mention of the simply STUNNING cover and illustrations from the incredibly talented Karl J Mountford. I could sit and admire the cover for hours – it’s full of such detail and beautiful colours that bring the idea of a Spring Lundinor to life! As I was very very lucky and received a proof copy of this book, I have yet to see all of the inside illustrations but, from the one I have seen, they are wonderful and I can’t wait to see them in the finished book and see how my imagination matches up to them!


Thank you very much to the Penguin Huddle for sending me a proof copy of this book!