HEARTSTOPPER: VOLUME 1 – Alice Oseman

img_45295/5

RELEASED: 07/02/2019
PUBLISHER: Hachette
GENRE: Graphic Novel, Young Adult, LGBT

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between – perfect for fans of The Art of Being Normal and Love, Simon.

Charlie and Nick are at the same school, but they’ve never met … until one day when they’re made to sit together. They quickly become friends, and soon Charlie is falling hard for Nick, even though he doesn’t think he has a chance.

But love works in surprising ways, and Nick is more interested in Charlie than either of them realised.

Heartstopper is about love, friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie’s lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us.

Back in the day, I was a massive fan of All Time Low (think I Was Born For This level of fandom) and would spend hours and hours reading slash fiction relating to the band; there was nothing else out there like it! So, something like Heartstopper, which focuses on male friendships, relationships and everything in between, would’ve been as popular then as it is today within the slash fiction community and I would’ve adored it. That said, as a young adult who doesn’t read a lot of LGBT books, I still loved reading Heartstopper!

Rightly so, this comic has been getting a LOT of love on social media, and so I was intrigued to see what the hype was all about. I was desperate to get my hands on a copy, and so after FINALLY getting to read it, I don’t know how I’m going to wait so long for volume two! I think what I loved was the whole innocence and angst that comes across from the characters. Charlie and Nick are so adorable, and it’s really interesting to see how their personas can hide a whole host of feelings and emotions and seeing their friendship blossom. Alice’s illustrations, whilst simple, make for a really enjoyable read as you really get sucked into the story and they surprisingly do bring them to life!

If I had to find one flaw with Heartstopper: Volume 1, it’s that it’s too short; I flew through this volume and have been left wanting more!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s