THE TRUTH ABOUT ALICE – Jennifer Mathieu

4/5

“…there’s this whole world that exists only to teenagers, and adults never know what’s going on there…”

Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and The Exact Opposite of Okay, both among my favourite contemporaries of all time, The Truth About Alice is a book that I couldn’t put down. It’s the quickest I’ve read a book in a long time!

The story of Alice is told through the eyes of a group of teens, excluding Alice. This made for a really interesting makeup because you never know what’s rumour and what’s true – surely there’s more to Alice than all the rumours about her? I think that’s what really makes the story so gripping; you don’t really know where it’s all heading until right towards the end, and as things start to unravel there’s the uncertainty of how it’s all going to affect Alice.

The reason I rated this one slightly lower is because it just didn’t seem to go anywhere – it felt like I was reading with some expectation that was never quite met. I would like to see there be more of a resolution to all that goes on in the book – so much more could have happened! Nevertheless, I think it’s a really good read and one that everyone could learn from regarding the spread of rumours.


Thank you to Hachette via NetGalley for the eBook of this title!
Advertisements

One thought on “THE TRUTH ABOUT ALICE – Jennifer Mathieu

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s