TO KILL A KINGDOM – Alexandra Christo

5/5

A murderous siren meets the pirate prince as we take to the high seas on an epic adventure.

This is actually a harder review to write than I anticipated; I literally just want to write a page of “I love it, I love it, I love it” and squeal with excitement as I reminisce over this incredible book and suffer through my book hangover! I knew that I was going to enjoy To Kill A Kingdom; it’s been suggested for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sarah J Maas. However, what I didn’t know is that I was going to fall completely for this world, these characters and this story.

To Kill A Kingdom is a dual narrative high fantasy set in a world where there is a constant war between the land and the seas. Our two main characters, Lira and Elian, are hunting each other – Lira is a siren, the Princes’ Bane, and is after Elian’s heart, Elian is the pirate prince who seeks to destroy the Princes’ Bane. However, their two paths collide in the most unlikely of ways as Lira is transformed into a human by the Sea Queen. But which one of them will succeed in killing the other?

The thing that I loved most about this book is the writing; it was so easy to get hooked on and full of warmth and humour. Lira is a sassy anti-heroine who you can’t help but adore, Elian a fierce character who isn’t just some pampered prince. The crew of the Saad are just as fun to get to know through both of these characters. I tabbed so many points of this book just because I laughed out loud!

I can’t recommend To Kill A Kingdom highly enough; it certainly lives up to the expectation and can certainly rival incredible fantasy books such as those by Maas and Bardugo, and I can’t wait to see what Christo writes in the future!


Thank you to Hot Key Books via NetGalley for the eBook of To Kill a Kingdom.
Advertisements

11 thoughts on “TO KILL A KINGDOM – Alexandra Christo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s